Volunteer

VOLUNTEER

It is easy to get involved at Salem. We have a variety of committees to choose from that offer different opportunities to match your strengths, interests, and availability. Whether you have just an hour to offer, are creative or not so much, an organizer or someone who just likes to follow directions, there is a place for you in the H.S.A. Joining a committee in any capacity is a great way to connect to the school, make new friends, and enhance the educational experience of all our children.

WHAT ARE MY RESPONSIBILITIES IF I AM A CHAIR OR VOLUNTEER?

CHAIR: The primary responsibility of a co-chair is to oversee, organize, and plan for an event. Each committee will have its own specific needs based on the type of program or event. Committee chairs will be provided with a set of guidelines and a folder with information from the previous year to help assist in the committee planning. In addition, every committee is assigned a liaison from the Executive Board who will be available to help and guide our chairs in any way needed. All committees will have at least two co-chairs except where it is not deemed necessary because of the magnitude of planning involved.

VOLUNTEER responsibilities are to assist the Chair with the planning and execution of the event or program. Responsibilities may include tasks such as: follow up emails, phone calls, supplying prizes, beverages, snacks, set up, clean up, advertising an event in the HSA Weekly Newsletter, creating a flyer, etc. Volunteers will be called upon prior to an event being planned.

Below is a complete list of all of the committees at South Salem. Anyone can become involved by email or phone. If you are interested in helping with any of the listed committees, please contact either the Liaison or the Chairs. The committees can always use some extra people.

COMMITTEE CHAIR LIST FOR 2016/2017

Art To Remember

Allie Pritti (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Margo Brock  (917) 586-1944 / margobrock@yahoo.com
Allie Pritti       (917) 992-5777/ alliepritti@gmail.com

Birthday Board

Tara Baltic (Liaison – Class Parent VP)
Tara Trapani                         (516) 570-6863 / tara.trapani@gmail.com
Jennifer Trenaman               (516) 660-9393 / jejtren@msn.com

Blood Drive

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Amy Iannuzzi Maute                                        (516) 467-4340 / amy.maute@gmail.com
Kristina MacHarg  (5th Grade Rep)                   (516) 632-9510 / kristinamacharg@yahoo.com

Book Fair

Bonnie Tanguay (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Kristina MacHarg                     (516) 632-9510 / kristinamacharg@yahoo.com
Bonnie Tanguay                    (516) 425-6460 / jbctanguay@gmail.com
Marianne Filipski                  (917) 767-8695 / mbfilipski@gmail.com

Clip To Contribute

Bonnie Tanguay (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
JeanMarie Livigni                  (516) 627-8904 / jmlivigni@hotmail.com

Cultural Arts

Erin Scott (Liaison – Education & Development VP)
Anna Covington         917-747-1883 / fourcovs@gmail.com
Tracy Hadden                        603-2035 / tracy.hadden@gmail.com

Directory

Cathy Galanis and Julie Epstein (Liaison – Co-President)
Kristina Hehn                                    (516) 944-5519 / kristinahehn@gmail.com

District Budget

Cathy Galanis and Julie Epstein (Liaisons – Co-Presidents)
Mandy Klarman                     (917) 922-6581 /mkl203@hotmail.com
Lauren Singer                                    (917) 405-0818 / singerlr@gmail.com

Fall Family Photo Day

Allie Pritti (Liaison – VP Fundraising)
Jill Chodosch                          (917) 842-0017 / jchodosch@gmail.com

Fall Festival

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Julie Kozinn                            (516) 365-3337 / juliekozinn@yahoo.com
Melissa Grossman                 917-414-3865 /  melissagaylegrossman@gmail.com

Father’s Day Sale

Allie Pritti  (Liaison-Fundraising VP)
Paula Drouzas                       646-533-4931 / paulaant@aol.com
Xenia Theodorpopoulos      917-327-7579 / xenia99@yahoo.com

Field Day

Tara Baltic (Liaison – Class Parent VP)
Linda Chondrogiannis          (516) 365-3632 / lindacessario@gmail.com

Fifth Grade Committees

Kristina MacHarg  (Liaison – 5th Grade VP)

Pizza Workshop

Sherry Srivastava                  (917) 750-7152 / sheruna@gmail.com
Xenia Theodoropoulos        (917) 327-7579 / xenia99@yahoo.com

Yearbook

Sona Hyde                  (347) 881-6723 / sona@hydetech.com
Debbie Radinsky       (516) 587-1982 / debradinsky@hotmail.com

5th Grade Fundraiser Event

Tara Trapani             (516) 850-1030 / tara.trapani@gmail.com
Greta Fox                   (917) 202-3329 / gretastaceyfox@hotmail.com

5th Grade Spirit Night

 

5th Grade Party

Amy Maute                 917-282-6390 / amy.maute@yahoo.com
Lisa Salit                     917-640-2171 / lisasalit@outlook.com

5th Grade Gift to the School

Erin Scott                   (917) 519-6337 / eleitman@msn.com
Kristina MacHarg      (718) 791-9500 / kristinamacharg@optonline.net

5th Grade Mixer

Xenia Theodoropoulos        (917) 327-7579 / xeniat99@yahoo.com

5th Grade Mets

Marianne Filipski                  (917) 767-8695 / mbfilipski@gmail.com

5th Grade Ladies Night Out Raffle

 

Food Allergies

Erin Scott (Liaison – Education & Development VP)
Emily Burton             (646) 415-3021 / emilyburton1@gmail.com

Family Movie Night

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Marisa Regan                         (917) 647-3138 / marisabill@yahoo.com

Friends of the Library

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Michelle Gomberg                 201-681-0208 / michellegomberg@yahoo.com
Lori Zlotoff                                 917-538-7458 / lzlotoff@gmail.com

Friends of Literacy

Erin Scott (Liaison – Education & Development VP)
Tracy Hadden                                    (516) 603-2035 / tracy.hadden@gmail.com

Game Night

Bonnie Tanguay (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Jill Chodosch                          (917) 842-0017 / jchodosch@gmail.com

Gift Wrap Sale: Miss Chocolate

Bonnie Tanguay (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Samantha Stam                          (917) 405-5881 / samanthastam@gmail.com
Xenia Theodoropoulos        (917) 327-7579 / xeniat99@yahoo.com

Green Committee

Erin Scott (Liaison – Education & Development VP)
Vickie Bageorgos                  biku700@gmail.com

Grounds and Beautification

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)

Lauren Moschetta Gilbert    201-344-1162 / schett55@hotmail.com
Lisa Salit                                 917-640-2171 / lisasalit@outlook.com

 June Picnic

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Melissa Grossman                 (917) 414-3865 / melissagaylegrossman@gmail.com
Julie Kozinn                                (516) 365-3337 / juliekozinn@yahoo.com

Kindergarten Dismissal

Erin Scott (Liaison – Membership & Education VP)
Bonnie Tanguay                    (516) 425-6460 / jbtanguay@gmail.com
Julie Coren                             (516) 297-6378 / jcoren@aol.com
Gail Fox                                  (516) 983-4963 / gailfox@gmail.com

Kindergarten Picnic

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Julie Kozinn                                    (917) 742-2947 / juliekozinn@yahoo.com
Gail Fox                                       (516) 983-4963 / gailfox@gmail.com

Ladies Night Out

Allie Pritti & Bonnie Tanguay  (Liaison – Fundraising VPs)
Regina Marino                           (917) 414-8479 / reginamarino@optonline.net
Orange Girtz                               (917) 921-5424 / ogirtz@hotmail.com

Lost and Found

 

Mabels Labels

Bonnie Tanguay                    (516) 627-0807 / jbctanguay@gmail.com

 Nutrition Committee

Erin Scott  (Liaison – Education & Development VP)
Melissa Grossman                 (917) 414-3865 / melissagaylegrossman@gmail.com
Missy Halpern                       (516) 627-0563 / melissahealthcoach@gmail.com

Open House

Tara Baltic  (Liaison – Class Parent VP)
Julie Russo                             (516) 883-3403 / saralee71@gmail.com
Joanne Parziele                     (914) 316-4313 / joparziale@gmail.com

Outreach Committee

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Tara Baltic                                  (516) 944-5353 / taraknits@yahoo.com
Julie Kozinn                              (917) 742-2947 / juliekozinn@yahoo.com

Parents Working to Connect

Nancy Labella                             (516) 883-6577 / jlandnl@optonline.net

Plant Sale

Allie Pritti (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Marnie Cohen                                    (516) 627-1101 / mcohen0812@yahoo.com
Leslie Palatnik                       (718) 433-3773 / lesliepalatnik@gmail.com

 Playground Committee

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Lauren Singer                        (917) 405-0818 / singerlr@gmail.com

Pride-In-Port / Pennant Making

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Stacy Levens              (347) 351-7595 / stacy.levens@gmail.com

Salem Apparel

Allie Pritti (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Tara Baltic                             (516) 944-5353 / taraknits@yahoo.com
Sheryl Zimmer                       (917) 287-4276 / sherylzimmer@yahoo.com

Salem Social

Bonnie Tanguay and Allie Pritti (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Alyson Zekowski                       (516) 365-1057 / alyelt@yahoo.com

School Photos

Allie Pritti (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Gail Fox                                  (516) 570-0983 / gailfox@gmail.com
Paula Drouzas                       (646) 533-4931 / paulaant@aol.com

School Supplies

Bonnie Tanguay (Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Linda Jennings                          (917) 709-3319 / linda@coolwind.biz

SCRIP

Bonnie Tanguay                    (516) 627-0807 / jbctanguay@gmail.com

Staff Appreciation Luncheon

Tara Baltic (Liaison – Class Parent VP)
Denise Mills                           (516) 272-0716 / marymills0108@gmail.com
Bonnie Tanguay                    (516) 425-6460 / jbctanguay@gmail.com
Mandy Klarman                        (516) 472-0075 / mlk203@hotmail.com

STEM NIGHT

Erin Scott (Liaison – Education & Development VP)
Catherine Kokkalakis            (917) 680-6101 / catkokk@gmail.com

Valentine’s Day Sale

Bonnie Tanguay(Liaison – Fundraising VP)
Bonny Tanguay                     (516) 627-0807 / jbctanguay@gmail.com
Maura Mazzei                                    (516) 659-1072 / mauraandchris@hotmail.com

Webmaster

Cathy Galanis and Julie Epstein (Liaisons – Co-Presidents)
Sona Hyde                              (516) 708-1894 / sona@hydetech.com

Welcoming Committee

Julie Coren (Liaison – Community Relations VP)
Michelle Gomberg                    (201) 681-0208 / michellegomberg@yahoo.com
Melissa Khalil                               (516) 650-6772/ sweetmelissac@aol.com

SEPTA

 

AGATE

Karen Parekh                                    (646) 789-6855 / kwachtel@hotmail.com

HEARTS

Anna Covington                     (917) 747-1883 / fourcovs@gmail.com

SAFETY & SUBSTANCE ABUSE

Rosalind Hoffman                 (347) 528-7496 / rghoffman212@gmail.com

COMPACT COMMITTEE

Julie Epstein
Erin Scott
Margo Brock
Julie Coren